top of page

Allen M. Steele


Allen Mulherin Steele, Jr. became a full-time science fiction writer in 1988, following publication of his first short story, "Live From The Mars Hotel" (Asimov's, mid-Dec. `88). Since then he has become a prolific author of novels, short stories, and essays, with his work translated into more than a dozen languages worldwide.

Steele was born in Nashville, Tennessee. He received his B.A. in Communications from New England College in Henniker, New Hampshire, and his M.A. in Journalism from the University of Missouri in Columbia, Missouri. Before turning to SF, he worked as a staff writer for daily and weekly newspapers in Tennessee, Missouri, and Massachusetts, freelanced for business and general-interest magazines in the Northeast, and spent a short tenure as a Washington correspondent, covering politics on Capitol Hill.


His novels include Orbital Decay, Clarke County, Space, Lunar Descent, Labyrinth of Night, The Jericho Iteration, The Tranquillity Alternative, A King of Infinite Space, Oceanspace, Times Loves A Hero (originally titled Chronospace), the Coyote Trilogy (Coyote, Coyote Rising, and Coyote Frontier), the Coyote Chronicles (Coyote Horizon and Coyote Destiny), Spindrift, Galaxy Blues, Hex, Apollo’s Outcast, V-S Day, and Arkwright. He has also published six collections of short fiction: Rude Astronauts, All-American Alien Boy, Sex and Violence in Zero-G, American Beauty, The Last Science Fiction Writer, and Tales of Time and Space. His work has appeared in most major American SF magazines, including Asimov's Science Fiction, Analog, and Fantasy & Science Fiction, as well as in dozens of anthologies.

Steele is a former member of both the Board of Directors and the Board of Advisors for the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and is also a former advisor for the Space Frontier Foundation. In April 2001, he testified before the Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics of the U.S. House of Representatives, in hearings regarding space exploration in the 21st century. “Live from the Mars Hotel” is among the many stories and novels included on the “Visions of Mars” disk aboard NASA’s Phoenix lander, which landed on Mars in 2008.


He lives in western Massachusetts with his wife Linda and their dogs.


The Jericho Iteration
The Tranquillity Alternative
Time Loves A Hero (originally published as Chronospace)
Apollo’s Outcasts
V-S Day


Near-Space Series

          Orbital Decay
          Clarke County, Space
          Lunar Descent
          Labyrinth of Night
          A King of Infinite Space

Coyote Trilogy:

          Coyote Rising
          Coyote Frontier

Coyote Chronicles:

          Coyote Horizon
          Coyote Destiny

Coyote Universe:

          Galaxy Blues


          The Weight
          The River Horses
          Angel of Europa
          Escape from Earth


          Rude Astronauts
          All-American Alien Boy
          Sex and Violence in Zero-G: The Complete Near-Space Stories
          American Beauty
          The Last Science Fiction Writer
          Tales of Time and Space


          Primary Ignition: Essays 1997-2001

tales of time.jpg


"The Death of Captain Future" (Asimov's, Oct. '95)

  • Hugo Award for Best Novella, 1996

  • Science Fiction Weekly Reader Appreciation Award, 1996

  • Seiun Award for Best Foreign Short Story from Japan’s National Science Fiction Convention, 1998

  • Finalist for the Nebula Award by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, 1997

"...Where Angels Fear to Tread'" (Asimov's, Oct./Nov. `97), upon which Chronospace is based

  • Hugo Award

  • Locus Award

  • Asimov's Readers Award

  • Science Fiction Chronicle Readers Award, 1998

  • Finalist for the Nebula, Sturgeon, and Seiun awards

“The Emperor of Mars” (Asimov’s, June 2010)

  • Hugo Award for Best Novelette, 2011

  • Asimov’s Readers Award

“The Legion of Tomorrow” (novella)

  • Asimov’s Readers Award, 2015

His novelette "The Good Rat" (Analog, mid-Dec.`95)

  • Hugo finalist, 1996


"Zwarte Piet's Tale" (Analog, 12/98) (novelette)

  • AnLab Award from Analog

  • Hugo finalist, 1999


“Agape Among the Robots” (Analog, 5/00) (novelette)

  • Hugo Award finalist, 2001.


“Stealing Alabama” (Asimov’s 1/01) (novella)

  • Hugo finalist, 2002

  • Asimov’s Readers Award


“The Days Between” (Asimov’s 3/01) (novelette)

  • Hugo Award finalist, 2002

  • Nebula Award finalist, 2003


“Liberation Day” (novella)

  • Asimov’s Readers Awards, 2005


“The Garcia Narrows Bridge” (novelette)

  • Asimov’s Readers Awards in 2005.


Orbital Decay received the 1990

  • Locus Award for Best First Novel, 1990


Clarke County, Space

  • Philip K. Dick Award finalist, 1991

Steele was First Runner-Up for the 1990 John W. Campbell Award, received the Donald A. Wollheim Award in 1993, and the Phoenix Award in 2002. In 2013, he received the Robert A. Heinlein Award in recognition of his long career in writing space fiction.

bottom of page