top of page

Fred Saberhagen


Fred Saberhagen (1930-2007) authored several popular science fiction and fantasy series. His life-destroying Beserkers menace, his SWORDS and LOST SWORDS stories captured the imagination of fantasy readers. In a ten book series, Fred created a unique picture of an old favorite, Dracula. Fred's BOOK OF GODS series tells anew the ancient myths. Fred's exploits in historical fantasy are populated by figures such as Hitler and Lincoln, Daedalus and the pharaohs. Fred served in the US Air Force, worker as a civilian electronics technician, and wrote and edited articles on science and technology for the Encyclopedia Britannica. Born in Chicago, he lived and worked with his wife, Joan Spicci, in the Land of Enchantment: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA.


Berserker Series


          Brother Assassin

          Berserker's Planet

          Berserker Man

          The Ultimate Enemy

          Berserker Base

          Berserker Throne

          Berserker Blue Death

          Berserker Kill

          Berserker Fury

          Shiva in Steel

          Berserker's Star

          Berserker Prime

          Rogue Berserker


Dracula Series

          The Dracula Tape

          The Holmes-Dracula File

          An Old Friend of the Family



          A Matter of Taste

          A Question of Time

          Séance for a Vampire

          A Sharpness on the Neck

          A Coldness in the Blood


The Empire of the East series

          The Broken Lands

          The Black Mountains

          Changeling Earth

          Ardneh's Sword

The Book of Swords

          The 1st Book of Swords

          The 2nd Book of Swords

          The 3rd Book of Swords


Book of Lost Swords

          1st Book of Lost Swords: Woundhealer's story

          2nd Book of Lost Swords: Sightblinder's Story

          3rd Book of Lost Swords: Stonecutter's Story

          4th Book of Lost Swords: Farslayer's Story

          5th Book of Lost Swords: Coinspinner's Story

          6th Book of Lost Swords: Mindsword's Story

          7th Book of Lost Swords: Wayfinders's Story

          Last Book of Lost Swords: Shieldbreakers's Story


The Books of the Gods

          The Face of Apollo

          Ariadne's Web

          The Arms of Hercules

          God of the Golden Fleece

          Gods of Fire and Thunder

Boris Brazil: The Space Force Chronicles

          The Golden People

          The Water of Thought

Pilgrim, the Flying Dutchman of Time


          After the Fact

Other Novels

          Gene Roddenberry's Earth: Final Conflict--The Arrival

          Love Conquers All


          The Veils of Azlaroc

          The Mask of the Sun



          A Century of Progress

          The Frankenstein Papers

          The White Bull

          The Black Throne (with Roger Zelazny)

          Bram Stoker's Dracula (with James V. Hart)

          Merlin's Bones

          Dancing Bears

Non-series anthologies

          A Spadeful of Spacetime

          Pawn to Infinity (with Joan Saberhagen)

          Machines That Kill (with Martin H. Greenberg)

kill 3.jpg
swords 1.jpg
bottom of page